chat
Furry Chat l_b_i 3mo ago 90%

How would you describe your personal demons

If your willing to share how would you describe your internal demons. I think most people probably have some. Some have more control than others.

My two biggest are a petrifying fear of change, and one I don't know how to articulate well, a petrifying fear of interaction would probably be the best short description.

Change/future: when I left my old job, I had a new one already. Everyone already knew I was leaving. Actually, officially, putting in my 2 weeks notice took me almost a full workday to work up the courage to submit, and I'd already told my boss weeks earlier. I don't like my job now, have a few other things I could consider and the financial means to do it, but I am terrified of following through on any of it. What if I don't like it... What if.. what if... what if... I don't like what I do now, but I am comfortable doing it. I work from home and have wanted to move for over 5 years. I know some of this could be risk aversion, but it seems excessive and irrational at times.

Interactions: Even before submitting my first post here, filling out the form with why I wanted to join was hard for me to do; submitting my first post was terrifying. Even now I have a little worry every time. Its getting better with time, and I do what I can to fight it, but its always there. It took me 10 years before I clicked the watch button on an artist's page. I've never been "normal" and I guess I had some fear of being "found out" or shame? dunno. I was afraid someone I might know would be there. I don't know why, that's why they're demons. I recently joined a few discord servers, I feel like an imposter, that I don't belong, that nobody wants to hear what I have to say, or I'm being in the way. I don't know if its just some social anxiety, or something deeper.

8
5
Comments 5