piracy

BlockTheSpot compromised or false positive?

github.com

Seems strange that the dev seems to be keeping quiet on this, no? I'm not telling you to read every comment of every post, you can just skim the post titles. Then you'll see multiple open issues and a few closed issues too going back 5 days to the latest BtS update.

Though I haven't followed this project long enough to tell if this is just the way they normally behave.

Edit:

I'm back at my computer, so it's easier to edit and add info now.

Some key points that have stuck out to me:

  • Previous version released in July only triggers 2 detections on Windows defender versus 29 for the most recent version: https://i.imgur.com/GIoH7eG.png

  • Users getting constantly pestered to update to the latest version: https://i.imgur.com/Oege3kU.png

  • Yeah, naturally, the dev is going to say it's a false positive. Obviously. I've only mentioned that the dev has previously responded because some people barely skimmed through the issues and thought the dev simply hadn't seen the latest open issue from only a few hours ago, when that is not the case.

4
10
Comments 10