legacyjailbreak
Legacy Jailbreak haui_lemmy 2w ago 100%

New Challenges with ipad3 on ios 9.3.6

I managed to solve the issue I had with sideloadly not working. the ipad is now jailbroken, some interesting facts I found:

  • system partition on 16 GB ipad, is 3GB
  • on 9.3.6 you only have 100 MB empty space
  • there are attempts to offload files and programs to /var but it is dangerous since a reboot could brick a tethered device
  • the stashing app for this purpose is not compatible with 9.3.6
  • ios is based on darwinOS so it basically is bsd.

my plans for the future:

  • try to find the sourcecode for the stashing app so I can port it
  • try and find an untether for 9.3.6 or make one myself
  • try to run postmarketos, maybe also changing the partitions

possible issues:

  • the bootloader is closed afaik so the device might brick if rebooted

1
0
Comments 0