games
games doublepepperoni 1mo ago 100%

In the Valkyria Chronicles universe's take on WWII you have the evil East Europan Imperial Alliance attacking the freedom-loving Atlantic Federation

In the Valkyria Chronicles universe's take on WWII you have the evil East Europan Imperial Alliance attacking the freedom-loving Atlantic Federation

Probably overthinking a goofy anime game franchise but I find it interesting that they'd choose to combine Germany and Russia into one aggressor nation for their WWII facsimile soviet-hmm

I can't really call it liberal anti-communist brainworms though since the East Europan Imperial Alliance is more reminiscent of Imperial Germany than anything and I think the devs were consciously avoiding depicting anything even close to fascism or communism because Sega didn't want their wholesome anime WWII game to be political

::: spoiler spoiler That didn't stop them from writing in a distrusted and hated minority that was sort of a stand-in for Jews though :::

I was looking for PSP games to check out and remembered Valkyria Chronicles went PSP exclusive after the first game. I played the first Valkyria Chronicles when it was released on PC a while back and while I enjoyed the turn-based tactical gameplay I sort of hated the game's aesthetics. I'm sorry, but I can't take your story about the horrors of war seriously when it's depicted in bright pastel colours and when everyone involved looks like a Pokemon trainer. Plucky child soldiers is also one of my most hated anime tropes

49
20
Comments 20